Tennessee Marijuana laws are extremely harsh and require mandatory fines and a jail sentence. Marijuana is a Schedule VI drug under Tennessee laws. Marijuana is also the most widely-used illegal drug in the world. Slang names for marijuana include weed, pot, Mary Jane, grass, herb, reefer and ganja. Marijuana is created from the dried cannabis plants and people have been using marijuana since the beginning of recorded time. In the 1960's, marijuana became a symbol for young people who wanted to challenge the establish and create a new society. However, Tennessee law enforcement and the courts crack down regularly on the illegal use of marijuana. Tennessee marijuana laws are no laughing matter.
The main chemical found in Marijuana is THC but many other chemicals contribute to the user getting high. Besides Marijuana in the dried form, the cannabis plant also produces a resin called "hash" or "hashish" along with a dark substance called "hash oil." Smoking is the main form of ingestion but it also seen in baked goods.
Marijuana does have many positive effects on its users especially in medical uses. Sick patients find relief from nausea, vomiting, and pain. In addition, marijuana helps with the stimulation of hunger. Despite the promising medical uses for marijuana, Tennessee law does not allow or recognize the use of marijuana for medical purposes. This is due to the anti-marijuana groups that argue that marijuana is a gateway drug that leads to the use of harder drugs such as heroin or cocaine. However, there is little hard evidence to this claim.
The chemicals from marijuana stay in the body for a significant amount of time and detection is especially easy if the subject is a frequent user. As a general rule, marijuana can be detected in urine samples for 30 days and longer if the subject is a frequent user. This is important to know because probation departments frequently require urine testing as a condition of probation. If a dirty sample is given while on probation, a probation violation will likely follow and the probationer could end up going to jail.
The punishment for a Tennessee Marijuana conviction depends on which type of offense occurred. Here is a summary of Tennessee Marijuana Laws and How Tennessee Enforces Marijuana Penalties.
Tennessee Simple Possession Laws: (usually less than 1/2 ounce or 14 grams) is a class A misdemeanor which requires jail sentence of 11 months and 29 days and a fine to not exceed $2,500.00. First convictions require a mandatory minimum fine of $250.00, second convictions are $500.00, and subsequent convictions are $1,000.00.
Tennessee Felony Possession of Marijuana Laws
Class E Felony :(1/2 oz to 10 lbs) requires a jail sentence of 1 to 6 years and a fine to not exceed $5,000.00.
Class D Felony :(10 to 70 lbs) requires a jail sentence of 2 to 12 years and a fine to not exceed $50,000.00.
Class B Felony :(70 to 300 lbs): Requires a jail sentence of 8 to 30 years and a fine to not exceed $200,000.
Class A Felony:(300 lbs or more): Requires a jail sentence of 15 to 60 years and a fine to not exceed $500,000.
Getting Help from a Tennessee Marijuana Laws Attorney
The marijuana crimes discussed above are for instances when the Defendant is charged under Tennessee laws. However, it is possible that a Defendant could also be charged for a Marijuana crime under both Federal and local laws. Tennessee Drug laws are tough, and Marijuana is no exception. You need an experienced criminal attorney who knows the nuisances of marijuana defense. If you need help with a marijuana case, give Lee Martin a call @ 615-345-1988. He knows the "ins" and "out's" of Tennessee Marijuana Laws and its defenses.