Schedule a Free Consultation
Call Today at (615) 345-1988


  • I ended up with the best outcome I could have possibly expected...
  • Lee listened to my case, formulated a defense, and went on the attack...
  • The premier DUI lawyer in TN, I would not hesitate to hire Lee again...
  • I am very fortunate to have chosen Lee Martin to represent me in my recent Franklin DUI case...
  • Thank you so very much Mr. Lee Martin. You SAVED my career and the success of my life!...
  • Lee tried my case in front of a Nashville jury, fought for me, and produced a very favorable outcome. If it weren't for his efforts, I would have lost my business...
  • You are the very best...attorney and person...Thank you from the bottom of my heart!...
Read More Testimonials

Blog

Tennessee shoplifting laws

Posted October 8, 2013Lee Martin - Shoplifting

In Tennessee, shoplifting is a generic term that is used to describe the stealing of goods from a merchant’s store.  Usually, the value of the merchandise is under $500.00 and the crime is charged as a class A misdemeanor.  Despite only carrying misdemeanor penalties, it is a serious criminal offense that can carry severe penalties.  If charged with shoplifting in Tennessee, you could face hefty fines in the amount of $2,500.00 and up to 11 months and 29 days in jail as well as a permanent criminal conviction on your record.  A permanent criminal conviction is bad news because it could result in loss of future employment opportunities.  Many employers are reluctant to hire an employee who has a permanent record for theft.  If you have been charged with shoplifting, you should consult with Tennessee shoplifting lawyer.  A successful defense could result in the charges being dismissed and expunged off your record.

Tennessee basically breaks down shoplifting charges into two categories.  If you are caught stealing over $500.00, you will be charged with a felony.  Any amount under $500.00 will charged as a misdemeanor.  Some people refer to these charges as petty theft or larceny and grand theft.  Obviously, a felony charge is more serious than a misdemeanor charge.  A felony conviction could result in significant jail time as well as permanent criminal conviction.  The stain of a permanent felony conviction will have long lasting effects.

The penalties for shoplifting can be very severe.  You will face jail time if you are being charged with either a misdemeanor or felony shoplifting charge.  It is possible to avoid jail time by serving your sentence on probation.  Usually, a probated sentence will result in the person performing either community service work or attending a class designed to prevent such future behavior.  As a condition of probation, the person will usually have to pay court costs and fines as well as pay restitution to the merchant for their losses.  It is important for the person on probation to fully understand the terms of their probation.  The failure to perform any aspect of probation could result in the sentence being placed into effect.  In short, a probation violation could result in a probated sentenced being placed into a jail sentence.

Store merchants have the right to detain a person and conduct an investigation of the person who was caught stealing.  Usually after the investigation, the police will be called and an arrest warrant will be issued.  However, it is important to note that the investigation must be conducted in a reasonable manner and it must be conducted immediately.  It is important to note that neither the police nor store merchant can threaten the detainee with violence.  Again, the investigation must be conducted in reasonable and timely fashion.  Furthermore, it is the responsibility of the store merchant to cease the investigation and let the person go if they cannot prove that theft occurred.  Also, the police must conduct an independent investigation of the facts so that the accused is not wrongly charged with shoplifting.

If you need help with a shoplifting charge, give Lee Martin a call at 615-345-1988.  He has nearly 20 years of criminal defense experience and knows how to get results.

Tennessee Shoplifting Laws

In Tennessee, shoplifting is a generic term that is used to describe the stealing of goods from a merchant’s store.  Usually, the value of the merchandise is under $500.00 and the crime is charged as a class A misdemeanor.  Despite only carrying misdemeanor penalties, it is a serious criminal offense that can carry severe penalties.  If charged with shoplifting in Tennessee, you could face hefty fines in the amount of $2,500.00 and up to 11 months and 29 days in jail as well as a permanent criminal conviction on your record.  A permanent criminal conviction is bad news because it could result in loss of future employment opportunities.  Many employers are reluctant to hire an employee who has a permanent record for theft.  If you have been charged with shoplifting, you should consult with Tennessee shoplifting lawyer.  A successful defense could result in the charges being dismissed and expunged off your record.

Tennessee basically breaks down shoplifting charges into two categories.  If you are caught stealing over $500.00, you will be charged with a felony.  Any amount under $500.00 will charged as a misdemeanor.  Some people refer to these charges as petty theft or larceny and grand theft.  Obviously, a felony charge is more serious than a misdemeanor charge.  A felony conviction could result in significant jail time as well as permanent criminal conviction.  The stain of a permanent felony conviction will have long lasting effects.

The penalties for shoplifting can be very severe.  You will face jail time if you are being charged with either a misdemeanor or felony shoplifting charge.  It is possible to avoid jail time by serving your sentence on probation.  Usually, a probated sentence will result in the person performing either community service work or attending a class designed to prevent such future behavior.  As a condition of probation, the person will usually have to pay court costs and fines as well as pay restitution to the merchant for their losses.  It is important for the person on probation to fully understand the terms of their probation.  The failure to perform any aspect of probation could result in the sentence being placed into effect.  In short, a probation violation could result in a probated sentenced being placed into a jail sentence.

Store merchants have the right to detain a person and conduct an investigation of the person who was caught stealing.  Usually after the investigation, the police will be called and an arrest warrant will be issued.  However, it is important to note that the investigation must be conducted in a reasonable manner and it must be conducted immediately.  It is important to note that neither the police nor store merchant can threaten the detainee with violence.  Again, the investigation must be conducted in reasonable and timely fashion.  Furthermore, it is the responsibility of the store merchant to cease the investigation and let the person go if they cannot prove that theft occurred.  Also, the police must conduct an independent investigation of the facts so that the accused is not wrongly charged with shoplifting.

If you need help with a shoplifting charge, give Lee Martin a call at 615-345-1988.  He has nearly 20 years of criminal defense experience and knows how to get results.

- See more at: http://www.nashvillecriminallawyer.com/post-detail.php?id=10570#sthash.EHYnebZG.dpuf

Comments