Tennessee DUI Second Offense
Have you been arrested for your Second DUI in Tennessee and you don’t know where to turn?
A second DUI in Tennessee can be a very serious problem. It can be a life altering experience. You are facing serious jail time and loss of license. You could also be forced into a Tennessee DUI treatment program in addition to the mandatory jail time of 45 days. Due to the harsh penalties associated with a second offense DUI, it is important to act quickly in order to protect your rights and freedom. Act now while the facts of your case are still fresh on your mind. Tennessee DUI attorney Lee Martin uses his over 16 years of DUI experiences in order to protect his clients and place them in the optimal position. As a Tennessee DUI attorney, he has defended more than 1500 DUI cases. He has been quoted several times by local news concerning DUI issues that affect Tennessee citizens. Put his years of experience to work for you today.
Second DUI charges in Tennessee offer much greater penalties than those associated with a first offense conviction. Tennessee law demands that a second DUI offender must serve 45 days in jail. This sentence is served day for day and not on weekends. As you can see, Tennessee courts are not playing when it comes to the penalties of a second offense DUI. Judges and prosecuting attorneys may give significantly more jail time upon a conviction at trial. Remember, 45 days is the minimum required under Tennessee law. It is not the maximum time. The maximum jail time under Tennessee DUI law is 11 months and 29 days.
Under Tennessee law, you will also face a driver’s license suspension of 2 years. If you are eligible for a hardship license, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your automobile for a period of 2 years. Additional penalties include a DUI school as well as clinical alcohol and drug evaluations. Depending upon the results of the evaluation, you could be ordered into a treatment program after serving your jail time.
Common punishments for a second offense DUI in Tennessee can include:
- 11 months and 29 days of probation
- Fines of $600.00 to $2,500.00
- Minimum of 45 days in jail. Maximum jail sentence of 11 months and 29 days.
- DUI School followed by alcohol and/or drug treatment.
- Loss of license for a period of two years.
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.
If this is your Second DUI in Tennessee, call an experienced DUI attorney today. Many DUI cases can be successfully defended if they are prepared correctly. There is no substitution for hard work in DUI cases. Your case will not defend itself. You need dedicated and focused representation. Lee Martin is an experienced DUI attorney who has over 16 years of defending DUI cases and he knows how to get results in DUI cases. Let him put his experiences to work for you. There is not a substation for hard work and experience. Again, call Tennessee DUI attorney Lee Martin at 615-345-1988.
I help good people restore their lives
-Lee Martin is a Nashville criminal defense lawyer who has gained national recognition as a DUI and criminal defense attorney. With over a decade of experience, he knows how to get results in DUI cases. If you are seeking an experienced DUI defense attorney, use his experiences to your advantage. If you need help with a pending DUI charge, give him a call at 615-345-1988.
National Trial Lawyers Top 100 in the areas of DUI and criminal defense.